Composition of the Council

  • PDF
  1. A Chairperson who shall be elected by the Council from among the members of the Council.
  2. The Chief Medical Officer who shall be an ex officio member of the Council;
  3. Six medical practitioners, each with at least five years post registration experience, to be appointed by the Minister after having been elected in accordance with the regulations made for this purpose, from among the medical practitioners resident in Guyana.
  4. Two persons who are not medical practitioners, to be appointed by the Minister  (one of whom is an attorney)